Music Therapy–The Live Edition

cherylmartin Me & the Wolfcubdisturbed1Disturbed performing “Inside the Fire”

 

So, I’ve been having a very difficult time since starting the new job.  This week, I was hit with the certainty that I made a terrible, awful mistake taking it.  It makes me kind of sad because I know that if I were healthy, I would excel at the position.  As it is, though, I am suffering.  I have gotten *NO* alone time for nearly a month and that is a need for me.  I am an introvert and haven’t had any recharging/me time.  Plus, sustaining a full time schedule and taking care of the household has put in an enormous spoon deficit.

Past me, however, was clever and got tickets to a concert by one of my favorite bands, Disturbed.  As you know, music feeds my soul.  It is one of the most useful tools in my coping toolbox.   So, Thursday, I drove down and fetched my wolfcub and Friday we went to the concert!

It was amazing!  We caught the last bit of the opening act, Nothing More which wasn’t to my taste.  Chevelle played next which and they put on a good show.  I am only familiar with a couple of their songs.  I sat during their set to save up my energy.  They performed really well though!   Then Disturbed took the stage and I was on my feet until the end of the night.  It was exactly what I needed.    Those guys are really talented and excel at live performance.  The pyrotechnics were freaking fantastic!  They hit so many of my favorite songs.  The performance of “The Sound of Silence” was sublime.

It took me quite some time to come down from that high after we got home.  Then I passed the fuck out.

I don’t know how long I can keep this schedule up but I now have some amazing memories to tap into.

Huge thanks to my wolfcub and to the partner I live with for making it possible!  I love you both so much.

Author: desertdragon42

I am a science fiction fan. I read it, I watch it, I breathe it, I go to conventions to hang out with others like me. I met my fannish family at my first Worldcon in 1995 in Glasgow. I've been smitten ever since. Just your typical bi pagan poly sf/f fan gamer geek! I have an amazing group of friends and chosen family flung all across the US and the world.