This and That

Brown skinned legs standing in the sand

I’ve been working on trying to get out of the house more.  Stymied by lack of funds plus it is winter.  Yes, I live in Arizona but we do have winter which means rain and gloomy days.  And for me, highs in the 50s feels really cold and uncomfortable.

As I’ve mentioned before, I need to set down roots.  It is vital for my mental health.  I never managed that in the Bay Area.  I am really trying to do so here.  It’s a bit easier since I lived in this area for 6 years.  Unfortunately, I’m in a different corner and have to learn my way around this part of town.

I’ve started a SF/F fan group here to mirror my group in Tucson.  I plan to drive down to visit my friends in the Tucson group when I have the energy and funds.  I am also in the process of reactivating the poly group.  Not sure where any of these endeavours will lead but it’s the sort of work I find helpful.

I haven’t yet found a therapist.  Doing so is on my agenda.  As is getting my follow-up bloodwork to see if anything has improved (or worsened ~sigh).

I’m trying to do some nesting.  I want to put things away.  There are still boxes taking up one room of the house.  I need a dresser, a couple of bookcases and storage shelves.   I need to give Craigslist a look though I have no way to transport anything large in my Camry (my wolfcub’s truck wold not make the drive up here so that’s right out).

I am still engaging in what activism I can.  Unfortunately, my Congresscritters are not inclined the way I am.  But I make my voice heard.   I am pulling back from social media a bit.  Not reading as much or posting as much because it distresses me.

Thanks for reading.

Support this blog. Thank you.

Fund Raiser

 

 

 

Author: desertdragon42

I am a science fiction fan. I read it, I watch it, I breathe it, I go to conventions to hang out with others like me. I met my fannish family at my first Worldcon in 1995 in Glasgow. I've been smitten ever since. Just your typical bi pagan poly sf/f fan gamer geek! I have an amazing group of friends and chosen family flung all across the US and the world.